29 C
Thursday, December 7, 2023
- Advertisement -

“Everybody In BCCI Requested (Virat) Kohli To Keep On As T20I Captain”: India Chief Selector Chetan Sharma

Must read

The choice committee named KL Rahul as the ODI captain for India’s three-match sequence towards South Africa after Rohit Sharma was dominated out resulting from a hamstring harm. Chairman of the choice committee, Chetan Sharma, additionally opened up on the controversy surrounding the ODI captaincy involving Check skipper Virat Kohli. Sharma stated that Kohli was requested to not give up T20I captaincy by the choice committee. “When the assembly began earlier than World Cup, it was shock for everybody. All current there informed him have a rethink. All selectors felt that it’ll have an effect on the World Cup. All conveners and board officers informed Virat that for the sake of Indian cricket proceed. Everybody was in a state of shock. After the World Cup we needed to speak,” stated Sharma.

“Everybody from selectors to (BCCI) workplace bearers, convenor of choice assembly and all current informed Kohli to attend on T20 captaincy until World Cup obtained over.

“We had been in the course of the World Cup when Virat introduced that he would surrender the T20s captaincy. However all board members requested him to rethink. That was not the time to inform him that if you happen to depart one format you’ll be made to surrender one other,” he added.

“At the moment when he introduced to us everybody informed him we will have a rethink, after the World Cup. Our targets is to make Indian crew on the highest. We do not need controversies. Ensure that the very best males play for nation.”


Requested about hypothesis a couple of rift between Kohli and Rohit, the chief selector stated, “Do not do speculations. I used to be part of the media for 20 years. I snort at speculations. They’re working collectively as a household, crew, unit.”

India’s ODI squad: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, and Mohd. Siraj.

Matters talked about on this article

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

10 − 2 =

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

- Advertisement -

Latest article