27 C
Thursday, September 28, 2023
- Advertisement -

New Zealand plans good Ross Taylor farewell in opposition to Bangladesh

Must read

New Zealand plans to offer retiring Ross Taylor the proper ship off when it faces Bangladesh in a two-Take a look at collection starting in Mount Maunganui on Saturday, with the vacationer’s hopes of enjoying celebration pooper dimmed by the absence of talismanic all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan.

World Take a look at champion New Zealand is with out common skipper Kane Williamson, who has been sidelined by a nagging elbow harm which flared up throughout the workforce’s 1-0 collection loss in India earlier this month.

Stand-in skipper Tom Latham, nevertheless, will welcome again quick bowlers Trent Boult and Neil Wagner as the house aspect goals to rattle Bangladesh with tempo.

ALSO READ – Ross Taylor will be missed – Southee

New Zealand has dropped Ajaz Patel barely three weeks after the left-arm spinner bagged all 10 India wickets in Mumbai, preserving all-rounder Rachin Ravindra as its lone spin choice.

There can be no scarcity of motivation in Taylor’s final collection after the 37-year-old announced his decision to stop worldwide cricket in New Zealand’s house summer season.

“His expertise has held the aspect collectively on numerous events and his catching document speaks for itself,” coach Gary Stead mentioned of the 37-year-old.

“There’s little doubt we’re going to overlook him when he’s gone. I do know Ross is de facto targeted on performing nicely in these remaining collection and going out on the suitable notice.”

Bangladesh might want to conjure one thing extraordinary to stop that from occurring, having arrived with out Shakib, who opted out of the collection, and nonetheless smarting from a 2-0 house loss in opposition to Pakistan. Mominul Haque and his workforce’s preparations have been additionally hampered after spin bowling coach Rangana Herath examined constructive for COVID-19 and several other gamers have been put in isolation.


  • New Zealand: Tom Latham (captain), Tom Blundell (wicketkeeper), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Will Younger.
  • Bangladesh: Mominul Haque (captain), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Fazle Mahmud, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan (wicketkeeper), Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Pleasure, Mohammad Naim.
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

1 × four =

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

- Advertisement -

Latest article