25 C
Sunday, February 5, 2023
- Advertisement -

Sri Lanka’s Mendis, Gunathilaka again from suspension for Australia collection

Must read

Prime-order batters Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka returned from their suspensions to make Sri Lanka’s 20-member squad for its limited-overs tour of Australia, the nation’s cricket board mentioned on Wednesday.

The duo, together with Niroshan Dickwella, had been suspended final 12 months for breaching the crew’s bio-bubble anti-coronavirus protocols throughout their tour of England in July. Their suspensions had been lifted earlier this month and Mendis and Gunathilaka had been included within the Dasun Shanaka-led squad which can play 5 Twenty20 matches in Australia throughout three venues in Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne.

ALSO READ – Australian players nervous about Pakistan tour – report

Based on a report within the Island newspaper, former paceman Lasith Malinga will be part of the squad as its quick bowling coach for the tour.

Sri Lanka is with out a head coach since Mickey Arthur’s two-year stint ended final month, and the newspaper mentioned Englishman Paul Farbrace would succeed him forward of the crew’s India tour in February-March.

Australia has rested opener David Warner and all-rounder Mitch Marsh from its 16-member squad for the Twenty20 collection in opposition to Sri Lanka starting on February 11.

Rumesh Ratnayake appointed interim coach

Rumesh Ratnayake has been appointed because the interim coach of the nationwide crew for Sri Lanka’s tour of Australia, Sri Lanka Cricket introduced on Wednesday.

Ratnayake won’t journey to Australia with the crew however will be part of earlier than the primary T20I. He’s at present in self-isolation after having examined constructive for COVID-19.

Staff Sportstar

Sri Lanka squad

  • Dasun Shanaka (c), Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Kamil Mishara, Ramesh Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Thushara, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama.
- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three × four =

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

- Advertisement -

Latest article